Atkinson’s coffee wins top award

ATKINSON’S coffee shop in Lancaster has been awarded a gold medal for their El Salvador Santa Barbara coffee at the North West Fine Foods Awards.

The coffee came out on top in a blind tasting and was chosen by a panel of 24 food industry experts.

Ian Steel, Master Roaster at Atkinson’s in China Street said: “The particularly pleasing thing about this award is that it has been given to a coffee that I personally selected from my first trip to origin. When I went to meet the growers of my favourite coffee Las Delicias in El Salvador last year I attended many ‘cuppings’ (Industry jargon for a coffee tasting) on various farms and this coffee stood out as a real gem. I am so pleased for everyone involved in its production that a top gourmet quality product has been rewarded.”

* Atkinson’s has also just been shortlisted as one of only four finalists for the BIBAs’ prestigious Independent Retailer of the Year award. The winner will be announced on March 7.

